Message from the Dean

Welcome to School of Agriculture, Environment and Health Sciences (SAEHS). The school was established in May 2022 after the University restructured schools and departments. This resulted to merging of three schools namely; School of Agricultural Sciences, School of Environment and Natural Resources Management; and the School of Health Sciences. The training programmes in the School have been development through stakeholders’ participation who include the relevant industry, employers and relevant professional bodies. The programmes are developed to ensure our students acquire relevant knowledge, skills and competences through training, research and community outreach required for improved agricultural production and agribusiness for sustainable community livelihoods, environmental sustainability, and improvement of health in communities. The programmes in the school immensely contribute to the realization of Kenya’s vision 2030 and the global sustainable development goals for socio-economic transformation of our communities.

Academic Staff

The School has a very strong team of 20 highly qualified academic staff who include professors, Associate professors, Senior Lecturers, Lecturers and Tutorial Fellows. The academic staff are involved in various internally and externally funded research projects.

Undergraduate programmes

The school has three Departments namely; Department of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Environmental Sciences and the Department of Health Sciences. In the three departments, 8 Bachelor of Science degree programmes are offered. These include: Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education and Extension; Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness Management and Trade; Bachelor of Environmental Science, Bachelor of Environmental Studies (Environmental Resource Conservation), Bachelor of Environmental Studies (Community Development); Bachelor of Science in Public Health, and Bachelor of Science in Food, Nutrition and Dietetics. These programmes are delivered inform of lectures, laboratory practicals, farm practicals/experiments, academic field trips, seminars, research projects and field attachments.

Postgraduate programmes

Currently the School has four Masters programmes. These include; Master of Agribusiness Management, Master of Agricultural Economics and Development, Master of Environmental Science, and Master of Environmental Studies and Community Development. The school is in the process of developing more postgraduate programmes among the being; Master of Science in Agricultural Extension, Master of Science in Agricultural Education and Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Science.